Pum’s favourite recipes…Lemon Berry Cake

Now this is not one for the dieters out there, sorry!

Last week I did some home-baking for my work to take part in the 2nd year of The Great Thermo Fisher Bake Off.  I thought I’d share the recipes I used in a 2-parter because they were both soooo easy and turned out really well! (See the 2nd part of this post and my recipe for an amazing Rocky Road here).

The first was a Lemon Berry Cake.  This sponge was super light and the berries were refreshing paired with the gorgeous buttery icing.

This was a goodfood recipe and the only change I made was to increase the cooking time from 25-30 mins to a full 35 mins.  I just judged based on look and feel (at the 25 min mark the cake was still very wobbly).  The sponge turned out perfect and I’d definitely recommend cooling it properly before icing.  I also followed my mum’s advice to bake it in a silver foil tray.  I then removed it to cool, ice and decorate before putting it back into the tray to transport.

See the full recipe here.

14285597_10154479318249780_1123288025_o

14407661_10154479318649780_93896933_n

 

If you’re looking for a failsafe sponge recipe I’d definitely recommend this recipe, delicious!  I can’t wait to recreate with different toppings and decoration!

 

Pum x

 

One thought on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Lemon Berry Cake

  1. Pingback: Pum’s favourite recipes…Isabelita’s Larder Rocky Road | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

