Pum’s favourite recipes…Oaty Protein Pancakes

I absolutely love pancakes!!!

When I was little and my sisters were at school I used to bake with my gran and I knew the recipe off by heart. Unfortunately however it doesn’t go well for me when I make the old fashioned kind at home…the whole batch mysteriously disappears in a matter of hours.

So I’ve had to adapt and make a healthier version that’s much better for me and forms a breakfast that’s actually nutritious!

These pancakes have a good amount of protein in the form of cottage cheese, egg and greek yoghurt and you can always up this by adding a little protein powder to the batter or serve along with nuts.

m4

Pum’s Oaty Protein Pancakes

Ingredients
  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 1 egg
  3. 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  4. 2 tbsp. almond milk
  5. 1 tsp. sunflower seeds
  6. 1/2 cup blueberries
  7. 2 tbsp. pure maple syrup
  8. 1 tbsp. greek yoghurt
  9. 1 tsp. coconut oil
What Pum did
  1. Blended together the oats, egg, cottage cheese, milk and 1 tbsp. of maple syrup until semi-smooth batter formed (I like leaving a little texture).
  2. In a small pot added the blueberries, 1 tbsp. of maple syrup and a splash of boiling water.  Squashed the blueberries and let bubble away for 5 mins stirring regularly until sauce formed and thickened slightly.
  3. Heated the coconut oil in a pan and added batter (roughly 1/4 cup at a time).  Cooked until bubbles appear at the topped and then flipped.  Cooked for another couple of minutes checking the bottom didn’t burn.
  4. When pancakes ready topped with the hot blueberries, sunflower seeds and greek yoghurt.

 

m6

m1

The pancakes themselves are quite plain which I love because you can go wild with the toppings.

Other combinations I love are; pistachios and raspberries; peanut butter and strawberries; almond butter and pumpkin seeds; or a little melted dark chocolate and cinnamon if I’ve been very good!

 

Pum x

4 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Oaty Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

