Pum’s favourite recipes…Great Green Lentil and Ham Soup

I was lucky enough to get a huge M&S Christmas hamper from my work before Christmas absolutely stuffed full of goodies!  I managed to gift/eat away at most of it but I was left with a tin of lean ham which I wasn’t sure what to do with.  Gran’s soup maker to the rescue!

I mentioned in my Christmas Roundup post that I got a soup maker for my Christmas woop (now I know making soup isn’t difficult but it basically does everything for you cooking and blending your soup at the quickest of speeds, also leaving you with minimal washing up…win!).

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/pum-update-christmas-roundup/

I thought the ham would be the perfect addition to some lentil soup and is salty enough on its own that it doesn’t need stock.  This would be an ideal recipe to use up leftover ham from a Sunday roast or special dinner…

Pum’s Great Green Lentil and Ham Soup

Ingredients
  1. 200g green lentils
  2. few stalks of celery
  3. 500g ham
  4. 1/2 cup frozen broadbeans
  5. enough water to cover
  6. salt and pepper to taste
What Pum did
  1. Chopped celery and added all ingredients to soup maker for 30 mins.  (If making the old fashioned/normal way:  chop celery and sauté in large pan with a little olive oil for 5 mins,  add all other ingredients and boil for 45 minutes).
  2. Added a little salt and pepper to finish and enjoyed!

12483008_10153792692374780_475060068_o

This soup is jam-packed of fibre with the lentils and is so delicious with the flavour of the ham.

12467882_10153792692649780_2035111684_n

That’s me all sorted for lunches this week back at work, I feel so organised and it’s great!

 

Pum x

2 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Great Green Lentil and Ham Soup

  1. Pingback: Pum’s favourite recipes…Tangy Tamarind Veggie Quinoa | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

