Pum update…How The Italians Do It

This week I’ve been in Milan for work and really enjoyed being in Italy again.  I went with my manager and another colleague who is himself Italian which made the trip so stress-free.

A key talking point throughout the trip was how Italians (for the most part) stay so slim when all we saw were healthy looking people enjoying pastries, cakes, gelato, pizza, pasta what seemed like all day.  The response from my Italian colleague was that the secret is to have something sweet for breakfast every day.  Now that’s something I can get on board with!

I’m sure he was joking (or justifying his own sweet-tooth to us) but regardless I thought I would live like an Italian for the short space of time I was spending in Milan.

The hotel breakfast selection was brilliant.  For 2 out of the 3 days I stuck to fruit and yoghurt but for my ‘Fat Friday’ treat I enjoyed a cappuccino alongside fresh pastries…

milan4

Our lunches were salads and fresh pasta with plenty of fruit.  For dinner I enjoyed seafood 2 out of the 3 nights (seabass then octopus) but on the night we spent in the centre I went all out with an incredibly cheesey pizza.

Don’t worry there was around half left when I was finished, I didn’t go off pumdiets that much…

milan9

I managed to fit in a couple of morning jogs and walks which was great.  The weather in Milan this week has been unusually warm for November so I thought I would make the most of it.

milan2

It was very misty in the mornings but I felt so much better after travelling just getting up and doing a short 20 minutes.

milan3milan1

On the last evening our colleague (and designated tour guide) took us to the Piazza del Duomo Milano.  The cathedral was breath-taking and I was so pleased to have managed some site-seeing.

milan5milan8milann

All in all I’d say in terms of keeping healthy on this trip I’ve been pretty balanced and don’t feel that I’ve put on any weight but not missing out on the amazing food Italy has to offer either.

I’m heading away for the weekend to a cottage break with my friends so let’s hope I can keep up the balance with the temptation of alcohol, crisps, chocolate, cakes…

Pum x

3 thoughts on “Pum update…How The Italians Do It

  1. Pingback: Pum update…How the Catalans Do It | pumdiets

  2. Pingback: Pum update…How The Scandinavians Do It | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

