Pum’s favourite recipes…Really Raspberry Porridge

Back at the start of the year when I decided to lose weight and become healthier I was surprised to learn (when researching weight loss foods) that raspberries are one of the lowest calorie fruits around, 1 cup (which is a fair amount of berries) contains just 60-70 calories.  I don’t know why I assumed berries were higher calorie, maybe because they are so sweet, but I was wrong, yay!!  They also provide a great amount of vitamin C (1 cup provides over half your daily needs) along with good levels of vitamin K, vitamin E, potassium and manganese.

So I now try to regularly eat berries as a snack.  I do sometimes have berries for breakfast but unless paired with a thick greek yoghurt they don’t tend to fill me up just on their own…unless combined in a delicious bowl of oats.  I just can’t resist a good bowl of porridge!

Pum’s Really Raspberry Porridge

Ingredients
  1. 1/2 cup oats
  2. 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  3. 1 cup water
  4. 1 cup raspberries (fresh or frozen)
  5. 1 tsp. agave syrup
  6. 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
What Pum did
  1. On the night before eating combined all ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerated overnight (so the chia seeds had time to plump up and absorb the liquid).
  2. In the morning heat over a medium heat in a pan.

raspberry

raspberry2

If you’re not keen on seeds I would give this recipe a miss as the raspberry seeds do provide a small amount of crunch, but I’m actually really liking the change in texture from my usual smooth oats.

Fruit, chia seeds and oats are a brilliant combo high in fibre so you’ll definitely be kept full with this bowl!

Pum x

3 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Really Raspberry Porridge

Leave a Reply

