Pum’s favourite recipes…’Bakewell’ Cherry Almond Smoothie

Mmm who doesn’t love a yummy Bakewell tart?!

The combination of cherries and almonds in this recipe are as close as I’m going to get to the real thing in the foreseeable future (need to get my healthy act together again after ‘birthday week’), but that’s not too unfortunate since this is a really tasty and filling smoothie.

I’ve written about the health benefits of almonds before (all-round fab nut providing great nutrients for skin and overall health) but did you know that cherries are packed with antioxidants?  They’re also high in potassium which is brilliant for heart health.

cherry6

I used the Harvest Morn linseed which is a milled linseed with sesame, blueberries and raspberries but a plain linseed would work just fine for this recipe.

Pum’s ‘Bakewell’ Cherry Almond Smoothie

Ingredients
  1. 1 cup frozen cherries
  2. 1/2 frozen banana
  3. 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  4. 1 tbsp. almond butter
  5. 1 tbsp. linseed
  6. 1 tbsp. ground almonds
  7. 1 cup water
What Pum did
  1. Combined all ingredients in a blender and whizzed up until smooth.

A good tip for this one is to drink immediately for a smoothie or leave for 5-10 mins in the fridge to have as a smoothie bowl as the chia seeds and linseed will thicken quite quickly.

cherry5cherry4

I absolutely love the flavours in this smoothie, so delicious.  I hope you enjoy.

Pum x

2 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…’Bakewell’ Cherry Almond Smoothie

  1. honestlylucy

    Hello! You liked one of my posts yesterday and literally, I think I’ve read about 20 of your blog entries since then! I love the way you write. It feels like you’re having a conversation through the screen. Anyway. Just wanted to let you know I think you’re awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. pumdiets Post author

      Aw that’s lovely thanks so much for saying that! I think I probably do write like that now that you say it so I’m glad someone’s reading haha!! I’ve been watching Jamie’s Super Food so the sweet potato breakfast muffins you posted about definitely caught my eye, great post xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

