Pum’s favourite recipes…Apple Pie Porridge

I know a lot of people who have an abundance of apples at this time of year and are either struggling to use them all up or are stuck making similar dishes repeatedly in order to make use of them.

I asked my big sis keeks if there were as many apples at this time of year in New Zealand as Scotland and she replied ‘Ye heaps bro’  (where did my Scottish sister go?!) so I’m assuming it’s not just Britain that is blessed with so many apples at this time of year.

Between my work and my friends I’ve seen (and tasted) so many delicious apple pies, apple pastries, apple donuts, apple tarts…the list goes on.  But it actually seems unusual to make something with apples that remains very healthy…bizarre!

I’ve recently started shopping in Lidl and Aldi and have been so impressed with their fruit and veg selection that I have been getting a bit carried away.  I did a full shop last weekend (knowing fine well I’d be away to Belfast over the weekend) so was left with a lot of fruit and veg.  Veg is easy because I love to make and eat soup and it freezes so well.  Some fruit does freeze well, but with others it’s more beneficial to be a little bit creative.

With my bag of apples I decided to make an apple pie flavoured apple compote that can be used in a variety of ways.  I made this last week and froze individual portions.  First up this morning was incorporating it into my porridge to make a yummy dessert tasting breakfast but with no added sugar.

1apple4

Pum’s Apple Pie Porridge

Ingredients
  1. 6 seasonal apples (this makes 4 generous portions so adjust measure of other ingredients based on how many apples you have to hand)
  2. 3 tsp. cinnamon
  3. 1 tsp. ground ginger
  4. 1 tsp. nutmeg
  5. 1/2 cup porridge oats
  6. 1 cup water plus extra boiled water
  7. 1 tsp. agave syrup (if desired)
What Pum did
  1. Cored and chopped the apples (I left skin on as I like the texture but remove for a smoother saucier consistency if you like) and added to a pan over a medium heat with a splash of boiled water.
  2. Stirred over heat for 2-3 mins then added a further splash of boiled water and the spices.
  3. Simmered over a low heat for 30-40 mins and stirred regularly.  Use judgement to see whether more water is required, it should be a thick consistency but more water may be needed to stop the apples drying and sticking to the pan.
  4. When soft and smooth, portioned into 4 portions to freeze or use.
  5. Added 1 cup water to 1/2 cup porridge oats and stirred in a pan over a medium heat for 5 mins.
  6. Added apple pie compote to the porridge and stirred through.
  7. Topped with 1 tsp. agave syrup for extra sweetness.

1apple9

1apple8

1apple6

1apple2

1apple1

I think this is a great way to use up leftover or unwanted apples without feeling the need to devour an entire apple pie (which let’s face it if I was baking I’d be eating).

I also plan to have the warm apple compote with greek yoghurt and spread over hot toasted seeded brown bread…mmmmm.

You might have noticed my porridge recipe was with water instead of my usual milk.  After really overdoing it this weekend for my birthday in Belfast I’m definitely making an effort to cut back on the dairy and bread!  I don’t regret it for one second, Belfast really does have some amazing food and drink on offer…watch out for the post.

Pum x

Leave a Reply

