Pum’s favourite recipes…Cinnamon Butternut Squash Porridge

I’m having an amazing porridge week this week.  I just keep coming up with winning combinations!

I bought a butternut squash with the view to making another batch of my delicious Chai Butternut to have with yoghurt for breakfast, but when I started making this is took a slightly different direction and I ended up with my new favourite way to have veggies for breakfast…

See my recipe for the Chia Butternut here:

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/pums-favourite-recipes-chai-butternut-for-breakfast/

Pum’s Cinnamon Butternut Squash Porridge

Ingredients
  1. 1 butternut squash
  2. 2 tsp. cinnamon
  3. 1/2 cup porridge oats (I used jumbo oats to give more texture)
  4. 1 cup almond milk
  5. 1 tbsp. coconut oil
What Pum did
  1. The night before halved and roasted the butternut squash in the oven for 1 hour until very tender.
  2. Blitzed the butternut in a blender on a low level with a splash of boiled water, the coconut oil and 1 tsp. cinnamon until smooth-ish but leaving some texture.  Divided into 3 portions, froze 2 for later and refrigerated 1.
  3. Combined the oats, milk and 1 tsp. cinnamon in a bowl and soaked overnight.
  4. In the morning combined the butternut and the oats mixture in a pan over a medium heat until warmed through.

butternutbutternut2

This was so tasty and very filling.  It definitely gave me enough energy to last through my lunchtime gym classes.

Butternut squash is a great veg bursting with vitamin A which is a bonus for skin and eye health.  So starting your day with one of these sounds like a good idea to me!

Pum x

5 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Cinnamon Butternut Squash Porridge

  1. Pingback: Pum recommends…Porridge | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

