What Pum ate…’Soup Week’

Last week I blogged that I’d be doing a ‘soup week’ for a little healthy boost and so here’s how it went.  See the soups I made here: https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/08/30/pum-recommends-soup-sundays/

I was a little worried commencing this week that I could get a bit bored by rotating the same 3 soups, but I honestly didn’t at all!  I was also so surprised how satisfying the soup actually was.  It filled me up after my lunchtime workout, as well as at dinner time and I didn’t find myself snacking too much.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a ‘What Pum ate’ post.  This one is just Monday to Friday the duration of the ‘soup week’.

Breakfast Morning Snack Lunch Afternoon Snack Dinner Evening Snack Workout
Green tea, oat bran 1 banana almond milk 5 raspberries, half grapefruit, coffee semi skimmed milk Carrot and ginger soup, peppermint tea, 1 apple Coffee semi skimmed milk, 1 nakd bar Apple/cinnamon tea, butternut squash and celeriac soup, 2 crackers, lemon/ginger tea Chai tea with coconut milk, 2 tahini bites, camomile tea 10 mins treadmill sprint, 15 mins HIIT circuits
Green tea, goji berry oat bran 5 raspberries, half grapefruit, coffee semi skimmed milk, 1 brown rice cake almond butter Tomato and red pepper soup, peppermint tea Green tea, 1 brown rice cake almond butter Feijoa tea, butternut squash and celeriac soup, 2 crackers, lemon/ginger tea Banana ‘nicecream’, camomile tea 10 mins treadmill sprint, 15 mins HIIT circuits
Green tea, oat bran 1 banana coconut milk 10 almonds, coffee semi skimmed milk Carrot and ginger soup, peppermint tea Green tea, 1 nakd bar Apple/cinnamon tea, tomato and red pepper soup, edamame beans with chilli Chai tea with coconut milk, 1 tahini bite, 1 square dark chocolate, camomile tea 40 mins cardio circuits class
Green tea, pink smoothie bowl 1 grapefruit, 6 brazil nuts, coffee semi skimmed milk Butternut squash and celeriac sop, peppermint tea, 1 apple Coffee semi skimmed milk, 1 brown rice cake peanut buter Feijoa tea, carrot and ginger soup, 1 brown rice cake with marmite, lemon/ginger tea Apple/cinnamon tea, camomile tea 40 mins strength and abs class
Green tea, oats almond milk 1 banana quinoa granola 1 grapefruit, coffee semi skimmed milk Tomato and red pepper soup Small skinny cappuccino, 2 squares dark chocolate 2 diet cokes, 2 fried chicken creamy pulled pork wraps (bad!), 1 coconut ice cream, 2 caramel waffles (bad bad!) 1 cider, 1 white wine, 4 white russians (woops!)

So, onto the results…

…at the end of this week I’ve lost another 2lbs!  And that’s after last night’s sugar fest with the amazing White Russians.  If you’re ever in Finnieston, Glasgow, you have to go to Lebowskis!  They have a full menu of White Russians.  I was out celebrating my friend becoming a homeowner so it would be rude not to try a selection of cocktails to show my support, but 4 wonderfully thick and creamy sugar-filled concoctions might have been taking things a bit far…

drinks

white russianwhite russian2

You’ll have noticed in addition to having lighter lunches/dinners I kept up with my lunchtime gym sessions so this probably helped too.

All in all this was actually a really good week for me.  I tried to make each bowl different in some way, particularly at dinnertime, and definitely enjoyed each meal.  Serving the soup with an alternative side (to the usual bread and butter) kept things interesting and light, I particularly liked the combination of the roasted red pepper and tomato soup with the salt and chilli edamame beans.

soupweek11soupweek3

I also made an effort to keep my breakfasts tasty and satisfying by getting a healthy amount of fibre and protein.

breakfast2

I’ve already added the recipes for the goji berry and pink smoothie bowls here (both so delicious):

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/pums-favourite-recipes-goji-berry-oat-bran-bowl/

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/09/03/pums-favourite-recipes-pretty-in-pink-smoothie-bowl/

I’m going to go back to a more normal and balanced week of eating as I don’t think eating soup alone is great for a long time, as I’m probably getting less of certain nutrients (weirdly craving a tuna baked sweet potato!).  But I now know I can turn to this next time I want a little boost.

Just about the tuck into another breakfast bowl of goodness mmm…happy weekend folks.

breakfast1

Pum x

One thought on “What Pum ate…’Soup Week’

Leave a Reply

