Pum’s favourite recipes…Goji Berry Oat Bran Bowl

If you read my post on Sunday you’ll know I’m trying to have soup for lunch and dinner all this week.  Partly to hopefully help boost my weightloss but also because I do love soup!

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/08/30/pum-recommends-soup-sundays/

This however means I have 1 meal to play with, the most important (and my favourite)…BREAKFAST! Yay!

I’ve mentioned my liking of oat bran and how good it is for you before and since that post I’ve been trying to make a slightly different oat bran bowl each time.  It’s such a versatile ingredient so there really are endless options.

See my post on oat bran here:

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/08/27/pum-recommends-oat-bran/

Now I’m actually not really one to get fully on board with the superfood trend.  The trouble I have with it is that I feel it detracts attention from the great foods we’re already used to having, before they were called superfoods.  I’m talking; apples, sweet potato, blueberries, spinach…cheap, not very fancy, but packed with nutrients!

Anyway, now and again I get curious and like to dabble, and when I saw Goji berries in my local supermarket (at a reasonable price) I thought I’d give them a try.  I’ve heard a lot about these little dried berries and there are wild and fantastical claims that they boost your immune system and protect against disease as well as aiding brain activity!  While I take all these alleged benefits with a pinch of salt I am intrigued…

So far I’ve really been enjoying them!  Whether it’s all in my head because I’ve read all about the amazing health benefits, or they are actually very beneficial I don’t know, but I feel good and like eating them, especially at breakfast.

Pum’s Goji Berry Oat Bran Bowl

Ingredients
  1. 1/4 cup oat bran
  2. 1 tsp vanilla essence
  3. 1 cup coconut milk
  4. Goji berries (garnish only)
  5. Mixed dried fruit, seeds or nuts (garnish only)
What Pum did
  1. Combine the oat bran with the coconut milk and vanilla and leave to soak overnight.
  2. In the morning stir over a medium heat for 5 minutes until thickened.
  3. Add your toppings and enjoy!

goji3goji5goji1

This breakfast bowl has definitely got my soup week off to a great start!

Pum x

One thought on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Goji Berry Oat Bran Bowl

  1. Pingback: What Pum ate…’Soup Week’ | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

