Pum update…Trip Update and What I Ate

I’m back!  I just had the best ever mini-break, 4 days 3 nights in England, with my best friend.

Thought I’d do a short round up of what we got up to and most importantly what food was involved!

Sunday

We travelled down to stay with Vivi’s sister-in-law and husband in Rugby.  What a lovely little place and beautiful house they have!  This was a great relaxed night, we ordered some pizzas and chatted the night away.  I had a veggie pizza (the ‘Giardiniera’ from Pizza Express – artichokes, mushrooms, red peppers, tomatoes, olives, pesto, mozzarella) so tasty I’d have that again!

pizza

Monday

We had a lazy morning with some breakfast before hitting the road again.  Trying to be good (because I knew what was coming later in the trip) I stuck to fruit.

breakfast gemmas

We then drove to Watford where we checked into the Sopwell House Hotel.  This was convenient for the Harry Potter Studio Tour as well as having a lovely spa.  Not long after we arrived at the studios for the key part of the trip…HARRY POTTER!

Here are some pictures of the brilliant tour…if you haven’t been already you have to go!

hp4hp12hp20hp24hp16hp1hp6hp8hp21hphp23hp22

It’s so difficult to narrow down the highlights as we thoroughly enjoyed it all but the huge model of Hogwarts they used for the wide pan shots was absolutely mesmerizing.

I also fell in love with butterbeer…yes that is butterscotch cream on top

hp19hp15

I really had to rein it in with the purchases as the shop was excellent, so much good merchandise.  I settled on a white chocolate wand (which I ate almost immediately, woops), a massive Hedwig mug (for my tea in work) and some Gryffindor shorts (absolutely love them).  And Vivi got some sweets to take home to the hubby.

hp13hp3hp2hp14Not having eaten much (if anything?) since breakfast we ordered room service later on once we got back to the hotel.

room service food

Tuesday

In the morning I got up early to use the spa as check out was 11am.  I managed a 40 length swim before chilling in the sauna/steam room.  All the facilities were really lovely.

I had to make sure I had the hotel breakfast as I absolutely love a buffet.  I wasn’t disappointed as there was such a varied choice.  I settled for smoked salmon then a fruit bowl.

brunch spabrunch hotel

Back on the road again we drove to Bicester.  Bicester has a cute designer shopping village and we were ready to get our serious shop on.

bicesterbicester shopping

I came away with 2 pairs of boots (total bargain both £198 reduced to £57 each) while Vivi treated herself to yet another Prada purse (she’ll kill me for saying that, I tried to stop her I really did).  I have always had trouble finding boots to fit my calves so I was extremely chuffed getting 2 pairs to fit so well!

boots

We also stopped at Lola’s Cupcakes and picked up some treats for the hotel room later.  The choice was difficult but I settled on 2 mini cupcakes (peanut butter obviously and cookies and cream) and a brownie (peanut butter yet again).  Amazing!

lola cakeslola dessertslolaslolas treats

The mega shopping completely took it out of me and I was done!  A nice relaxing night in the hotel, we just went to Tesco and picked up bits and bobs for dinner.  I got a salad, hummus, fruit and tucked right into my cupcakes!

Wednesday

And that was the holiday over!  After a quick breakfast of instant porridge and a banana we were on the road again back home.

breakfastscotland

Like I said this was a brilliant trip.  So good to spend quality time with my best friend and get to see more of the UK.

I put on 1lb during the trip however I honestly think that will go back off tomorrow after being back in my routine and drinking more water (with the travelling I was consciously drinking a bit less).  Overall I’m taking that as a win.

Pum x

3 thoughts on “Pum update…Trip Update and What I Ate

Leave a Reply

