Pum’s favourite recipes…Gorgeous Quinoa Nut Granola

So if you read my What Pum ate…week 6 post you’ll know I discovered that the shop bought granola I was happily munching away at had a ridiculous amount of sugar in it.  I then swapped granola out of my diet for porridge or shredded wheat to avoid having so much sugar in the morning.  My friend Catriona read my post and suggested I make my own granola to control how much sugar was in the mix, which I had attempted before and failed (burnt oats does not taste good), but since she is the goddess of all things in the kitchen (in my eyes) I followed her advice and gave it another go to a bloomin great success.  Thanks Cat!

https://pumdiets.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/what-pum-ate-week-6/

A lot of recipes for granola I’ve come across do still require quite a lot of oil and sugar.  My recipe doesn’t have very much sugar at all and I think the spices make up for this but you can always adapt the recipe to your taste buds if you think you need it a bit sweeter by adding more honey.

My recipe uses uncooked quinoa.  This gives it a really crunchy texture which I love.  If you prefer a softer cereal or have reservations about eating toasted quinoa that hasn’t been precooked you can easily soak your quinoa overnight first.

Pum’s quinoa nut granola…

Ingredients
  1. 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  2. 1 cup porridge oats
  3. 2 tsp coconut oil
  4. 2 tsp honey
  5. 2 tsp peanut butter
  6. 2 tsp cinnamon
  7. 2 tsp ginger
  8. nuts of choice (I use roughly a small handful each of brazil nuts, almonds and walnuts)
What Pum did…
  1. Roughly chop the nuts to desired consistency (I like them still quite big for more crunch).
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in a baking tray and mix well.
  3. Melt the coconut oil and honey and add along with the peanut butter to the dry mix and stir well (you have to mash in the peanut butter, I left a few clumps in to give some tasty clusters).
  4. Bake in the oven at a medium heat for 30 mins.
  5. Now this is important!  You have to stir every 5 minutes or the mix can easily burn.  Take particular care if using walnuts as these can catch and burn very quickly.
  6. Leave the mix to cool or enjoy hot with greek yoghurt or your milk of choice (delicious with coconut milk).

Quinoa Nut GranolaQuinoa Nut GranolaQuinoa Nut GranolaQuinoa Nut Granola

Pum x

4 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Gorgeous Quinoa Nut Granola

  1. Pingback: Pum’s favourite recipes…Multigrain Blueberry Smoothie Bowl | pumdiets

  2. Pingback: Pum recommends…Porridge | pumdiets

  3. Pingback: Pum recommends…Quinoa | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

