Pum’s favourite recipes…Detox Carrot And Ginger Soup

This recipe was put together on a particularly bloated week.  I searched like mad for causes of bloating, relief of bloating, detox, flat tummy…basically anything that would reduce the size of my expanded stomach and discovered that carrot and ginger are both soothing on the digestive system, incredibly nutritious and most importantly a winning flavour combination.

I really did feel the benefit from having this every couple of days that week so will always try to keep a few in my freezer that I can bring out for a quick and easy lunch or dinner.

Pum’s carrot and ginger soup

Ingredients
  1. 1 chopped onion
  2. 1 clove garlic
  3. fresh ginger (approx. 1 thumb sized piece)
  4. bag of carrots (approx. 1kg)
  5. Olive oil (splash for cooking)
  6. Low sodium vegetable stock (approx. 1500ml or 6 cups)
What Pum did…
  1. In a large pot sauté the chopped onion in the olive oil on a low heat (roughly 10 mins, don’t let them brown too much)
  2. Mince the garlic and ginger and add to the onion stirring (I use a big wooden spoon) for another 2 mins (don’t let the garlic burn!)
  3. Chop the carrots into smallish chunks and add to the pot with the vegetable stock, simmer, cover and cook until you can easily poke through a carrot with your fork (but avoid it going mushy), 20-25 mins
  4. I used to use a hand blender to blitz up but now I would put in a blender to make smooth as I feel it’s less messy but up to you.  I vary between really smooth and leaving a few chunks

This recipe can really be adapted very easily I’ve tried and loved the following:

  • swirl in greek yoghurt and a little honey
  • add loads of black pepper and some chilli flakes at the end
  • add 1 potato and 1 sweet potato for extra thickness (at the same time as the carrots but you will have to simmer in the stock for longer until the potatoes are tender)
  • add chopped rosemary or thyme to the onions when cooking
  • add toasted pine nuts or almonds at the end

What I would say to anyone that is making soup for the first time is…it’s dead easy why have you waited so long?!!  With soup I feel you don’t have to religiously follow a recipe.  Taste as you go along.  If it’s too thick, add more stock.  If you’ve added too much stock if you have extra veg chuck that in.  If you have a favourite spice sprinkle some in, experiment with different combinations…unless you try something very weird I’m sure it’ll turn out lovely.  Soup also freezes well so make plenty and freeze individual portions.

Carrot and Ginger Soup

Pum x

7 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Detox Carrot And Ginger Soup

  1. wyliesarah

    This sounds great – I’ve never thought to add ginger! Do you find you use your blender in a lot of recipes? I’ve only got a handheld and it’s not the quickest.

    Like

    Reply
    1. pumdiets Post author

      Ginger definitely makes up for the low sodium stock it adds such a great taste. I use my blender mostly for smoothies. If I’m wanting a very smooth soup that I can pretty much drink then I’ll use the blender so I can whizz it and leave it, but if I’m leaving some chunks in it (particularly when I add sweet potato to this recipe) I will just use the hand blender!xx

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Pum recommends…Soup Sundays | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

