What Pum ate…Week 24

So, true to my word I’ve sporadically chosen a week’s food diary to share with you – week 24!  By this point I’d already lost 24 lbs (seemingly true to my rough 1lb a week steady weight loss goal, although in reality some weeks I was losing, some I was gaining and some there was completely no movement on the scales).  I think this was a great week on reflection as it was for the most part healthy but I indulged too and really enjoyed myself!

Week Day Breakfast Morning snack Lunch Afternoon snack Dinner Evening Snack Feeling
24 Monday all bran with almond milk blueberries brown pitta low fat cheese, tomato, 1 plum 1 alpro soya pudding chicken, green and red pepper, sweet potato, buckwheat 1 orange, turmeric drink woke up bloated
24 Tuesday all bran with almond milk edemame beans buckwheat, peas tomatoes, 1 plum, 1 alpro soya pudding 1 machine chocomilk sweet potato, bolognese, 1 orange turmeric drink woke up better but still a bit bloated
24 Wednesday 2 slices whole-wheat toast with peanut butter hazelnuts and dates porridge with almond milk, chia seeds, blueberry jam 1 peach chicken, couscous, broccoli, green and yellow pepper 1 orange, turmeric drink feel better today
24 Thursday porridge with almond milk and peanut butter edemame beans, cappuccino with semi skimmed milk brown pitta low fat cheese tomato bolognese, 1 sweet potato, mango turmeric drink
24 Friday fried egg, 1 rasher bacon, tomato, mushrooms 1 baked sweet potato with mixed seeds single nougat ice cream (van came to work…) chicken, lettuce, olive oil and balsamic vinegar strawberries with dark chocolate, turmeric drink
24 Saturday green tea, 1 slice whole-wheat toast with peanut butter and strawberries, coffee with semi skimmed milk 1 rice cake with cottage cheese, turmeric drink  rest of small tub cottage cheese, edemame beans, dark chocolate, green tea 1 rice cake with peanut butter, coffee with semi skimmed milk whole-wheat pasta red pesto, mixed salad, chia seeds with almond milk half bottle white wine, half bottle prosecco, half bottle pink fizz (with my best friend) feel good
24 Sunday 1 slice whole-wheat toast, scrambled eggs, 1 coffee semi skimmed milk strawberries, 1 coffee with semi skimmed milk halloumi flatbread, chicken flatbread, brownie, 2 coffees full milk (riverhill café) smoothie (spinach, banana, mixed frozen berries,  almond milk) feel good

Weight loss in week 24 was…3.3lbs!  This was definitely one of my better weeks as I didn’t feel deprived in any way and still saw results.

This also happened to be the week of the turmeric drink.  The turmeric drink consists of turmeric (powdered approx. 2 tsps.), apple cider vinegar (a generous ‘slosh’), topped up and stirred fiercely with hot water.  I had felt very bloated in the previous weeks and read up on how great both turmeric and ACV are so thought I’d give it a bash.  It may have contributed to the weight loss that week, or it might not have.  Either way I’ll definitely be reaching for my turmeric drink when I next feel the bloat!

During week 24 I also met my friend Sarah at the Riverhill restaurant in Glasgow for some lunch.  That was the first time I had been and I was blown away.  The food was just brilliant, my picture of the chicken shawarma wrap and halloumi flatbread (we had half each) definitely don’t do it justice.  Watch this space for a post about the restaurant in more detail as I’m sure I’ll be racking up a few more visits before the summer’s out.

Here’s a few pics of some of the items on my week 24 food diary.  This was a yummy week which I hope to repeat soon!

Chicken shawarma wrap and halloumi flatbread at Riverhil Café Glasgow

Chicken shawarma wrap and halloumi flatbread at Riverhil Café Glasgow

Oh I should also mention that an ice cream van came to my work the Friday of week 24…what a treat (yes it was free)!  This also was one of the funniest days as Laura (my 8 month pregnant co-worker who had been craving ice cream all day) squeezed her cone a little too hard and did this…

There were tears.  Her sadness and my laughter!  (Don’t worry they took pity on her and gave her another).  I thoroughly enjoyed my single nougat

Delicious!

Pum x

3 thoughts on “What Pum ate…Week 24

    1. pumdiets Post author

      I ordered mine online from Amazon because I was ordering a few things anyway so was convenient for me. Great for making sure you’re getting your fibre intake and because they absorb liquid they apparently swell a bit in your tummy and make you feel fuller! They’re pretty tasteless on their own but give a nice crunchy texture when sprinkled on top of yoghurt or a pudding like texture when you leave to absorb liquid (e.g. coconut milk)…look out for my favourite blueberry chia seed jam I’ll be posting the recipe soon x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

