Pum’s favourite recipes…Deliciously Ella’s Roasted Tomato And Red Pepper Soup

Soup is a great weight loss tool.  Actually scratch that, it’s a great health tool no matter what your goals are.

As a result of my decision to get healthy and lose weight at the start of the year I began doing a lot of research into foods that you think are great for you, but actually could be sabotaging your weight loss efforts and I discovered that shop bought soups can be one of them.  In my old work I used to go to the sandwich shop down the street and get a soup and a ham salad roll most lunches…how healthy I thought I was being!  Little did I realise that the soup I was buying was chock-full of salt, and well the ham salad roll was dripping in butter and mayo (who was I kidding!).  So I thought if I can’t trust the soups out there then I should just get in the kitchen and have a go myself.

Learning how to make tasty soups in big batches, being organised and freezing individual portions and taking them in for lunch at work has really helped me.  I feel satisfied and generally good about myself when I’ve made the decision to have a homemade soup.  I won’t lie, it has been a bit of an adjustment going from no breakfast and massive lunches to good sized breakfasts every day and healthy portioned lunches, but one that I’ve found incredibly beneficial (and I will come back to this another time).

So my favourite soup recipe was a complete no-brainer and has to be the one from the Deliciously Ella blog –  her roasted tomato and red pepper soup.  It is so bloody delicious.  And so easy!  In a nut shell you basically chuck some tomatoes and red peppers with a few herbs in the oven, leave to do all that good roasting and blitz up.  It couldn’t be simpler.  The only tweak I’ve really made to the recipe is using less water so it’s really thick, that’s just how I like it.

After making it for the first time I posted my efforts on instagram tagging Ella and…

Instagram

…she liked it!  Happy days!  Star-struck!  My life is made!…maybe exaggerating slightly but I was well chuffed.

Roasted Tomatoes and Red Peppers
Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

The link to the full recipe is below and please check out Ella’s blog if you haven’t already done so.  As I mentioned in my post ‘Pumspiration…other blogs’ it is one of my favourites!

http://deliciouslyella.com/roasted-tomato-and-red-pepper-soup/

Happy soup-ing!

Pum x

4 thoughts on “Pum’s favourite recipes…Deliciously Ella’s Roasted Tomato And Red Pepper Soup

  1. Pingback: Pum recommends…Soup Sundays | pumdiets

  2. Pingback: Pum’s favourite recipes…Awesome Almond Basil Pesto | pumdiets

Leave a Reply

