What Pum ate…Week 1

So as I mentioned in my post ‘Then and now’ the first thing that I did when I decided to change my weight/size/general un-healthiness was to start a food diary.

I plan to share my weekly entries with you in my ‘What Pum ate…’ posts, but not in order (sorry not sorry)!  Instead I will be going back and forth between entries, reflecting on weeks at the beginning of my experience as well as updating you on my more recent progress.  This way I will be able to write how I’m feeling in more detail for the recent entries which will hopefully give me more of an insight into how my diet is really affecting me.

So, ready?

What Pum ate…week 1

Week Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner Snacks
1 Monday quinoa, greek yoghurt, granola vegetable soup salmon, stir-fry veg, 1 egg banana greek yoghurt and honey, 2 coffees with milk
1 Tuesday quinoa, greek yoghurt, honey vegetable soup salmon, stir-fry veg, small portion pasta tomato mascarpone sauce 1 scoop ice cream, 2 apples, 2 coffees with milk
1 Wednesday quinoa, greek yoghurt, honey vegetable soup eclectic shepherds pie baked apple, 2 coffees milk
1 Thursday granola coconut milk 2 banana pancakes 1 pitta pizza, 1 baked sweet potato 2 coffees with milk, 1 tea with milk, 1 banana
1 Friday granola coconut milk 1 boiled egg marmite, 1 banana pancake, apple vegetable soup, brown pitta tomatoes, greek yoghurt banana and honey 1 coffee with milk, 1 tea with milk, mug cake
1 Saturday 1 banana vegetable soup quorn, broccoli, sweet potato and quinoa 1 coffee with milk, 1 tea milk, 1 scoop ice cream
1 Sunday granola coconut milk tuna steak, cup of mushroom soup, 1 banana quorn, broccoli, sweet potato and quinoa, 1 apple

1 coffee with milk, 2 tea with milk, greek yoghurt dessert, 1 lindt chocolate


For some reason week 1 started on the 5th of January…maybe I felt better about starting the ‘diet’ on a Monday.  So in 9 days I had lost…9lbs going from 14 stone 7lbs to 13 stone 12lbs.  This might seem drastic particularly given that I was eating plenty and not all of it was really healthy (I later found out how much sugar was actually in that granola…frightening) however I think at the start this was mostly water weight and calming down from Christmas (i.e. not having mince pies and mulled wine every single day!).  But all in all I felt this was a good start and was definitely nice to see a new number on the ‘stone’ part of the scales.

At the beginning of writing my food diary I kept all snacks together in the one category.  Now I separate them by morning, afternoon and evening as I now know just how important the ‘when’ of eating is as well as the ‘what’.

At this point I was also not keeping track of how I was feeling each day.  I think that is a really important part of knowing if your diet is right for you or not.  Now I will add comments such as; ‘bloated today’, ‘woke up flatter tummy’, ‘felt very hungry today’ or ‘that dessert was totally satisfying’.  This way I can really reflect and know what works for me.  You’ll see this when I start to post my current entries 🙂

Granola, greek yoghurt, honey and seeds

Granola, greek yoghurt, honey and seeds

Pum x

Leave a Reply

